Skip to main content
Hostos Library Banner

Faculty Toolkit

Library Liaisons to Your Discipline

Hostos librarians can help your students build their research skills in a number of ways:

  • Working with you to create in-class workshops tailored to your research assignment and learning goals;
  • Offering individual guidance to students about their research at the reference desk on the lower level of the library;
  • Collaborating with you to create course-specific research guides;
  • Embedding customized research support in Blackboard;
  • Working with you to hone research assignments aligned with the resources available to Hostos students;

And we are always open to speaking with you to discuss other possibilities for collaboration.

Connect with Your Liaison Librarian

Department/Discipline Librarian Contact Information
Allied Health Lisa Tappeiner x.4221 etappeiner@hostos.cuny.edu
Behavioral & Social Sciences – Anthropology, Psychology, Social Work Jennifer Tang x.4298 jtang@hostos.cuny.edu
Behavioral & Social Sciences – Criminal Justice, Legal Studies, Police Science, Public Administration, Sociology Rhonda Johnson x.4214 rhjohnson@hostos.cuny.edu
Behavioral & Social Sciences – History Jorge Matos x.4149 jmatos@hostos.cuny.edu
Business Kate Lyons x.4213 clyons@hostos.cuny.edu
Education – Early Childhood, Physical Education Linda Miles x.4212 lmiles@hostos.cuny.edu
Education – Gerontology, Health Lisa Tappeiner x.4221 etappeiner@hostos.cuny.edu
English – Introductory-level workshops for entry courses (110, 111, etc.) Haruko Yamauchi x.6671 hyamauchi@hostos.cuny.edu
English – Workshops, collections, electives, other collaborations, Women & Gender Studies Miriam Laskin x.4207 mlaskin@hostos.cuny.edu
First Year Seminar Lisa Tappeiner x.4221 etappeiner@hostos.cuny.edu
Humanities -- Black Studies, French, Humanities, Italian, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Philosophy, Spanish Jorge Matos x.4149 jmatos@hostos.cuny.edu
Humanities -- Digital Design, Digital Music, Game Design, Music, Visual and Performing Arts Linda Miles x.4212 lmiles@hostos.cuny.edu
Language & Cognition Lisa Tappeiner x.4221 etappeiner@hostos.cuny.edu
Mathematics Kate Lyons x.4213 clyons@hostos.cuny.edu
Natural Sciences

Jennifer Tang

x.4298 jtang@hostos.cuny.edu
College Transitions Programs – CLIP, College Discovery, College Now, CUNYStart, Early College Initiative Haruko Yamauchi x.6671 hyamauchi@hostos.cuny.edu