Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Toolkit

Library Liaisons to Your Discipline

Hostos librarians can help your students build their research skills in a number of ways:

  • Working with you to create in-class workshops tailored to your research assignment and learning goals;
  • Offering individual guidance to students about their research at the reference desk on the lower level of the library;
  • Collaborating with you to create course-specific research guides;
  • Embedding customized research support in Blackboard;
  • Working with you to hone research assignments aligned with the resources available to Hostos students;

And we are always open to speaking with you to discuss other possibilities for collaboration.

Connect with Your Liaison Librarian

Department/Discipline Librarian Contact Information
Allied Health

Lisa Tappeiner

(on sabbatical 2022-23)

for workshops and research guides,

contact Haruko Yamauchi HYamauchi@hostos.cuny.edu x6671

Behavioral & Social Sciences – Anthropology, Psychology, Social Work Jennifer Tang x.4298 jtang@hostos.cuny.edu
Behavioral & Social Sciences – Criminal Justice, Legal Studies, Police Science, Public Administration, Sociology Rhonda Johnson x.4214 rhjohnson@hostos.cuny.edu
Behavioral & Social Sciences – Economics, History, Political Science Jorge Matos x.4149 jmatos@hostos.cuny.edu
Business Kate Lyons x.4213 clyons@hostos.cuny.edu
Education – Early Childhood, Physical Education Linda Miles x.4212 lmiles@hostos.cuny.edu
Education – Gerontology, Health

Lisa Tappeiner

(on sabbatical 2022-23)

for workshops and research guides,

contact Haruko Yamauchi HYamauchi@hostos.cuny.edu x6671

English – Workshops for entry-level courses (100, 110, 111, etc.) Haruko Yamauchi x.6671 hyamauchi@hostos.cuny.edu
English – Workshops for elective courses, collections, other collaborations; Women & Gender Studies Miriam Laskin x.4207 mlaskin@hostos.cuny.edu
First Year Seminar

Lisa Tappeiner

(on sabbatical 2022-23)

for workshops and research guides,

contact Haruko Yamauchi HYamauchi@hostos.cuny.edu x6671

Humanities -- Black Studies, French, Humanities, Italian, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Philosophy, Spanish Jorge Matos x.4149 jmatos@hostos.cuny.edu
Humanities -- Digital Design, Digital Music, Game Design, Music, Visual and Performing Arts Linda Miles x.4212 lmiles@hostos.cuny.edu
Language & Cognition

Lisa Tappeiner

(on sabbatical 2022-23)

for workshops and research guides,

contact Haruko Yamauchi HYamauchi@hostos.cuny.edu x6671

Mathematics Kate Lyons x.4213 clyons@hostos.cuny.edu
Natural Sciences

William Casari

x.4220 wcasari@hostos.cuny.edu
College Transition Programs: CLIP, CUNY Start, Early College Initiative HLA and HERO, College Now, College Discovery Haruko Yamauchi x.6671 hyamauchi@hostos.cuny.edu