Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hostos Library Banner

Films and Audiovisual Resources: Free Movie and TV Streaming Sites

List of Free Streaming Sites Online - COVID-19 Updated

Take advantage of these free streaming sites below, some of which don’t require a registered account. A few provide films on the condition that you watch a few ads. You’ll find a wide variety of old and new Hollywood films, documentaries, and other genres. 

We have rated these services from one star (poor) to four stars (best).

GENERAL FILMS & TV

Classic Cinema Online  (4 Stars) 

  • As its title implies, the collection features only movies from the 1930s to 1970s.

Crackle  (4 stars)

  • This ad-supported, free streaming site features movies and vintage and new TV shows. Genres include action, anime, comedy, drama, originals, horror, romance, animation, adventure, sci-fi, and more. 

IMDBTV (4 stars)

  • Free (ad-supported) feature films, best legal bet for films not found for free anywhere else!

Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive (4 stars)

  • This archive represents an ambitious effort to offer free movies, films, and videos in digital form. The archive includes Internet sites and other cultural artifacts. It seeks to be a full video library online, providing access to everyone. 

Just Watch (3 stars)

  • This searching platform allows you to peruse multiple paid subscription and free (legal) streaming websites. Movies available for free on a specific platform will say "Ads" below the icon. Subscription (paid) platforms such as Netflix are indicated as such with "Subs." Works best if you search by title. You may still want to do individual searching by platform, as the search may miss some films. If you would like help, please contact us.

Peacock TV  (4 stars)

  • This site, sponsored by NBC, offers free and paid content.

PBS Video (4 stars)

  • Select videos from PBS, available for free

Pluto TV  (4 stars)

  • This site provides over 250 free movies, TV shows, newschannels, live sports and more. 

Popcornflix (2 stars)

  • This site includes films and TV shows from 1930s to 2010s, foreign films and "Viral Vid" - a collection of original content. 

Tubi TV  (4 stars)

  • Great site for free movies and TV shows. Genres: Action,comedy, thriller, drama, documentary, romance, horror, cult classics, and more.

Vudu  (4 stars)

  • This site offers both paid and free (ad supported) content – lots of movie and TV offerings.

ARCHIVAL, DOCUMENTARY, SHORT FILMS, KIDS

AdViews (Duke University Libraries) (4 stars)

  • This digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s. All of the commercials held in the DMB&B Archives will be digitized, allowing students and researchers access to a wide range of vintage brand advertising from the first four decades of mainstream commercial television."

American Rhetoric (4 stars)

  • Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two."

British Pathé - (4 stars)

  • Considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world and is a treasure trove of 85,000 films unrivalled in their historical and cultural significance...Who We AreSpanning the years from 1896 to 1978, the collection includes footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture."

Crunchyroll (4 stars)

  • Free anime! "Crunchyroll, a WarnerMedia company (as part of Otter Media) and the world’s most popular anime brand, connects anime and manga fans in more than 200 countries and territories with 360-degree experiences."

Documentary Heaven (4 stars)

  • All are documentaries. Some are exclusive to the site, others are linked to other third party websites such as Youtube.

Folkstreams (4 stars)

  • This non-profit dedicated to finding, preserving, contextualizing, and showcasing documentary films on American traditional cultures."

Internet Archive (4 stars)

  • This nonprofit library offers not only movies but millions of free books, software, music, websites, and more

Netflix: Educational Documentaries (4 stars)

TED (4 stars)

  • Inspirational and/or expert speakers on a variety of topics.

Tubi Kids (4 stars)

  • Free, ad-supported, films and television shows for children.