LibGuides: History: Find Articles

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is our largest database containing thousands of journals covering many academic subjects. This is a great resource, but don't forget to try our many specialized subject databases.

African-American History Online
The database contains numerous encyclopedia and dictionary entries defining particular aspects and movements in African American history; while various articles, book chapters, and other secondary sources offer analysis and criticism on those same events and issues. Primary sources include documents, unpublished reports, letters, speeches, laws, court cases and opinions, images, videos, maps, and charts. Popular themes that are heavily documented include the Civil Rights movement, popular culture, racial violence, Reconstruction, segregation and integration, and slavery and abolition.
American History in Video
This database contains a wealth of video footage documenting American history in the form of raw archival recordings from NASA and NARA, news clips, and documentaries from PBS and the History Channel. The database includes over 2000 hours of footage and approximately 5,000 titles.
American History Online
Produced and maintained by the same company that created African-American History Online, Facts-on-File, this database is more inclusive and broadly documents American History. It is rich with tertiary sources, secondary sources, and primary sources that cover popular topics such as: the economy, exploration, immigration, revolts and rebellions, social movements, the U.S. Constitution, and war. Primary sources include documents, unpublished reports, letters, speeches, laws, court cases and opinions, images, videos, maps, and charts.
Black Culture and Thought
This collection documents black leaders in American history, politics, music, literature, the arts and athletics from the earliest of times through the present. The database contains 100,000 pages of both secondary and primary sources that document black cultural leaders such as W.E.B. Du Bois, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Thurgood Marshall, Jesse Jackson, and many others. Secondary sources include monographs, essays, and articles. Some primary sources include speeches, letters, pamphlets, and interviews.
Biography Reference Center
This database offers a comprehensive collection of more than 460,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases. In addition to keyword searching, users can also locate biographies of interest by browsing more than 30 genre categories, including actors, authors, composers, explorers, figures relevant to U.S. & world history, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, current world leaders and many others.

Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a database of encyclopedias, biographical sources, directories, and other specialized reference works covering a wide range of academic subjects. Designed for multidisciplinary research, all materials are fully searchable and include indexed, full-text entries.

Gender Watch
GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization, and special reports. Covers Government , History and Politics, Humanities and Social Sciences, and Women's Studies.
JSTOR
This electronic journal service provides full text access to more than 400 journals in language and literature, Latin American and Asian studies, political science, history, business, arts and sciences, and other fields in the social sciences and humanities. Journal coverage begins with the first issue of each journal, in some cases going as far back as the 1800s. Current journals are not entered into the database for 1 to 5 years.

Nexis Uni

Nexis Uni is an interdisciplinary, full-text database that includes newspapers and magazines from across the country and around the world—including the New York Times—as well as journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports, legal cases, government documents, broadcast transcripts, and selected reference works. While newspapers are not peer-reviewed, they are often appropriate for academic research.
New York Times Historical (Proquest)

Full text coverage of the New York Times 1851-2020.

Project Muse
Project MUSE provides full-text coverage for over 300 quality journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden.

Gale in Context : U.S. History

Provides extensive coverage of U.S. history, featuring millions of articles from periodicals and newspapers, topic overviews, biographies, and rich multimedia such as images, videos, audio, and web links.

Women and Social Movements
The database contains a plethora of reference, secondary, and primary sources that document Women in United States history from 1600 through the present. The collection details every imaginable aspect of women studies. It is especially rich in primary sources and contains formats not typically available in online databases, such as: advertisements, broadsides, cartoons, diaries, drawings, flyers, oral histories, postcards, and programs. Also available are more common resources such as government reports, letters, and interview transcripts.
WorldCat
The world's largest union catalog containing bibliographic information on over 50 million items from books and journals to CD-ROMs and videos. Includes holding information from libraries around the world. Part of FirstSearch (OCLC). Try the newest interface, Worldcat.org, to search for books, music, and videos and then locate them in a library nearby, research articles and digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded, or post or read reviews or notes about an item.