Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hostos Library Banner

Research 101

Citation within OneSearch

When you find items in OneSearch, you can click on the citation tool above the short description:

Citation tool in OneSearcha

Clicking on the tool will open a box in which you can choose your citation style and then copy the citation:

Citation view in OnesSearch

Exclamation Point IconNote: Always double-check the citations generated through automatic tools, which can make errors.

Citations in Databases

Databases may also have their own citation generators. When you click on an article, look around the page for the word "Cite"; there might be an icon using " quotation marks.

Be aware that the location of the cite button varies from database to database. Good places to look include the side of the screen: 

Academic Search Complete Cite Button

 

--or the top of the screen.

Gale Ebook Database Citation Page

Citation Tools

Citation generators allow you to enter your source's bibliographic information (such as title and author for a journal article, web page, or book) in order to produce a citation in your selected format.

 

Free Citation Builders

CloudCite Logo

Completely ad-free with the exception of its donation page, CloudCite saves your prior citations under the generator. 

 

University Citation Builders

These are owned by universities, are entirely free, and have no ads. You put in your information and they will put everything in the correct format. They will not, however, try to look up any information that you are missing.

The North Carolina State University Library Logo

The North Carolina State University citation builder. It will give you your citation once. 

Previous citations are not saved. 


The University of North Carolina University Libraries Logo 

 

 

 

The University of North Carolina's citation builder.

Previous citations are not saved. 

 

Citation Management Software

People who are collecting and organizing dozens or literally hundreds of citations--such as students working on a senior thesis, graduate students working on dissertations, and professors writing books or journal articles for peer-review--often use citation management programs. 

 

ProQuest RefWorks Logo

RefWorks is a citation manager that imports citations from many library databases and Google Scholar enables you to attach PDFs to citations, add notes, and generates bibliographies in many formats, including APA or MLA.

To use it, you will need to set up a free account using your Hostos email address.

 

Examples of well-known programs that let you sign up for a free account and download software include Zotero, Mendeley, or EndNote Basic (the free version of EndNote).

If you only need to format 5-10 citations for your project, these programs may not be worth the time it takes to learn to use them - but if you are curious, by all means, check them out and see what they're about!