Here are a few types of books within Hostos Library:
TYPES OF NON-FICTION BOOKS
|
|
TYPES OF LITERARY BOOKS
The category of literature includes: Novels: Novels are long works of fiction imagined and created by their author. They may be realistic or fantastic. They may be based on historical events, or set in the present. We have novels in English and Spanish, and a few in other languages. Short Stories: The library has anthologies of short stories. Anthologies are books that include works written by many different authors. The library also has plays and poetry. To browse works of literature, you can look on the shelves in the "stacks" in the main reading room downstairs. For the most commonly read books at Hostos, see books that start with call numbers:
For call numbers of literature from other places and in other languages, see here. (You'll notice that although works from all over the world are represented, the Library of Congress classification system unfortunately reflects a Western/Northern bias, by creating much more detailed categories for works of literature in the Western and especially English-speaking world.) |
|
We also have graphic novels (sometimes called comics or graphic narratives)--works that combine visual images with written text. These works can be fiction or non-fiction (including a lot of reportage and memoir). Most, though not all, of our graphic novels can be found in the section with call numbers in the PN 6700-6800 range. |
OneSearch will search across our collection for ebooks (filter with the "books" filter on the right).
If you prefer, you can also search a particular package of ebooks. Included below are some highly recommended open access collections as well. Each platform has a different look and features.
Credo Reference — An online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles. It also includes a collection of handbooks on Criminology.
Ebrary — An interdisciplinary collection of almost 100,000 academic ebooks avaialble to all CUNY libraries.Click here for instructions on how to download Ebrary ebooks onto mobile devices.
Ebsco ebook Subject Collection — A small collection of books on computers and history.
Gale Virtual Reference Library — Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Latin American Women Writers — Approximately 19,500 pages of prose and poetry and 36 plays by women writers from Mexico, Central, and South America.
Latino Literature — Approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.
Nursing eBooks @ Ovid — A small collection of popular titles in Nursing and Allied Health. Not available for download onto portable devices.
Palgrave Connect ebooks — Academic ebooks chiefly in the social sciences, humanities and business.
Project Gutenberg — A free collection of classics from all over the world.
SpringerLink — Scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
STAT!Ref — Ebooks for allied health students — NCLEX study guides, care planning books, and more. Click here for instructions on how to download STAT!Ref ebooks onto mobile devices.
You can find a textbook in OneSearch by searching for the title(or the most important words from the title).
You will find a list of results.
Please note we often have more than one edition of the same textbook. Click on the title or on "see all versions" to see all the editions.
Look for the edition your professor wants you to use.
"Stacks" means that the book is on the shelves downstairs in the large reading room of the library. For textbooks, books in the stacks are usually the older versions.
"Reserves" means that the book is upstairs.
Loan periods are short so that everyone in your class gets the chance to read the chapter before the next class!
You will find the "call number" in the OneSearch listing, within parantheses. Please write down or take a photo of the call number and show it to the reserves room library staff upstairs.
Give them your Hostos ID card, title of the book, and call number, and they will check out the book to you.
For stacks books, see "how to use the call number" to find your book, or come talk to a librarian downstairs for assistance.
Nearly every academic journal is now published only electronically (online). The library also has access to more ebooks (books that you read online) than to physical books (an e-book is just a book that you happen to read on your computer: it is still a book!) Click here for more information on using e-books.)
Both these things were not true a generation ago, and some assignments have not been updated to reflect this new reality. If you are told you must use "only print sources", or told you cannot use "online sources", please do this:
Before the "Currently on shelf" filter is applied:
After the filter is applied:
As you can see from the example above, limiting to only physical books will eliminate most of the available resources, particularly for topics of current interest, so please come to a librarian for assistance on the lower level of the library if you need help finding enough sources that fulfill the printed-book-only requirement.
