Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hostos Library Banner

ENG 111 Prof. Krystyna Michael Spring 2020

Activate your ID to read online library sources

To access the online articles and e-books from the library databases, you need to have your account activated. To activate your account from home:

Email - circ@hostos.cuny.edu.  Provide your First and Last name, EmplID, and your barcode, which is the entire 16-digit number on the back of your Hostos ID

OR

Call - Circulation Desk at 718-518-4222.   Provide your First and Last name, EmplID, and your barcode, which is the entire 16-digit number on the back of your Hostos ID

**Please allow 24 hours for activation. 


Logon to access library resources

When prompted to login, use your barcode, the entire 16-digit number on the back of your Hostos ID; this is both your username and password.

If it doesn't recognize your account, email circ@hostos.cuny.edu.

barcode sign in

Reference resources - what are they and why would I want one?

Two methods to find reference articles

Reference articles - please see the video above for more information on what a reference article is and how it can help you! 

Here are two different ways to find reference articles.

1. Using a reference article-only database

You can use a database like Gale Virtual Reference Library or Credo

Find it on the library homepage, for example:

find GVRL on Databases A-Z dropdown menu

Search with your keywords, and select an article from your results.

OR

2. Use OneSearch to find reference articles 

In OneSearch, to limit your results to reference articles, use the "resource type" filter on the right and select "Reference Resources".

resource type filter on the right

PLEASE NOTE: this list is arranged A-Z. If you don't see the words "Reference Resources" you need to click on "show more" to see the whole list.

show more

reference resources circled

 

Book chapters and more in OneSearch

(1) Go to OneSearch.  OneSearch searches through many kinds of documents, including books, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, videos, and more. 

(2) Search with your keywords in the search box

 

OneSearch home

 
(3). You can choose the kind of thing you want under “Resource Type” - books, book chapters, reference articles, news articles, and more.
 
If you can't see the whole list, click on "show more".

OneSearch with resource type list filter

How do I use an ebook?

To read an e-book, click on "full text available" from the results view:

example of an ebook result

Once you get to the book, take a look at the information before you. 

Ebook example

Once you click on "read online", you'll see something like this (all publishers are different, so yours may look slightly different). You can pick a chapter, or do a word search. 

ebook word search

navigation in an ebook

 

Articles in literary databases

You can find a database (collection of publications) that only collects publications about literature, by

(1) Clicking the "database" tab;

library homepage databases tab

(2) Clicking on the "A-Z list of databases" link

A-Z list of databases link highlighted

(2) In the A-Z list, under "Subject", find English & Literature:

subject dropdown box

You will see several databases listed, including some "best bets":

screenshot of literature database list

Once you are in a literature database, conduct your search using your keywords. You know your keywords will include Toni Morrison and Song of Solomon. 

Depending on which character you've chosen, it may or may not help to add your character's name as keywords. 

Please note that you will have choices about the kinds of articles you want to look at:

* magazine articles, work overviews, and reviews will usually be easier to read than articles of literary criticism, but they will also usually be less detailed. 

Literary Reference Center resource type list

Gale literature resource type list

 

 

Using Google for this assignment

Google?

You can use Google (or another search engine) for this assignment. However, please note:

* You should not pick an article from a site like Cliffs Notes, Spark Notes, Shmoop, Study.com or other sites that post ready-made summaries of the novel. This bibliography is the chance for you to do original thinking,  and to make your own connections between ideas in the book and the book. 

* For each website you find, think about the six questions in the handout/worksheet below - they are questions that will help you evaluate how much you want to trust each site.