Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly Communication is a phrase used to describe the academic publishing system, "through which research and other scholarly writings are created, evaluated for quality, disseminated to the scholarly community, and preserved for future use" (Association of College and Research Libraries). Scholarly Communication can refer to both formal and informal means of communicating knowledge produced in and by academic communities. Increasingly, discussions about scholarly communication refer to efforts to reform outdated publication models, emphasize broad access to scholarship through open access publishing, and conceptualizing knowledge as a public good.
Used with permission, NYC Tech, Ursula C. Schwerin Library: http://libguides.citytech.cuny.edu/scholarlycommunications
This article is a brief, clear discussion of the changing landscape of academic publishing, focusing on Open Access and its importance to the publishing landscape today - including those whose journals are "questionable." Created by M. Keener, J. Kirchner, S. Shreeves & L. Van Orsdel for the ACRL 14th National Conference, 2009 & updated in 2013.
Resources for Checking the Quality of Journals
Hostos E-Journal Finder
Online Journals, Books and more. This is one of the Hostos Library's tools for finding out whether we have a particular journal and if so, which database(s) have it and the dates of access. Just type the name of a journal in the search box for results. In addition, this tool offers browsing by subjects to get a list of journals and databases that include them. If a journal does not appear in e-journal finder then it may be a questionable journal.You can also check the ejournal finders from other CUNY colleges to see whether their library has a journal in a database we don't have. For example, here is Baruch College library's finder: https://tinyurl.com/y7v27qyh. Here is Lehman College's: http://www.lehman.edu/library/.
Beall's List of Predatory Journals
This is an archived version of the Beall's list - a list of potential predatory publishers created by a librarian Jeffrey Beall. We will only update links and add notes to this list. A list of new predatory publishers is available below the original one.
Instructions: first, find the journal's publisher - it is usually written at the bottom of journal's webpage or in the "About" section. Then simply enter the publisher's name or its URL in the search box above. If the journal does not have a publisher use the Standalone Journals list.
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
USE CHROME or FIREFOX browser to access this database.
Cabell’s International is a directory of academic journals providing fundamental publishing information of interest to faculty seeking a journal in which to publish, as well as for librarians helping faculty achieve their publishing goals. Search features allow users to select from a variety of criteria (i.e., acceptance rates, review timelines, manuscript format and length requirement, submission information and a suite of metrics) in order to match researchers with the publication outlet that best meets their needs
RoMEO is a searchable database of publisher's policies regarding the self- archiving of journal articles on the web and in Open Access repositories. RoMEO covers peer-reviewed journals and serials. Journal titles are gathered from publishers' websites and supplemented with by feeds from the British Library's Zetoc service, DOAJ, and Entrez.
If RoMEO does not cover the title you are interested in, please try searching for the Publisher instead.