Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hostos Library Banner

Earth Day: Water in our World: Agriculture and food

WHERE TO START

Hostos Food Studies research guide

Check out this research guide, written for the new Food Studies program at Hostos.

Overviews!

Reference articles are a great way to start your research, get background information, and learn what some of the most important issues and controversies exist in a field.  The reference articles below are from academic encyclopedias--you can search hundreds of academic encyclopedias and other reference books in one of the online databases that Hostos library subscribes to, Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Other sources of information can include widely respected institutions such as the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations and the World Health Organization.

Research articles, books, and more!

Some databases that will include articles about agricultural issues: Science in Context, Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete, CQ Researcher,

To search across multiple databases, or to find research data sets, audio-visual files, books, and much more, use our new OneSearch and then click on  on the left-hand side to see all the different kinds of sources available.

News sources!

In addition to mainstream newspapers like The New York Times (and remember that all CUNY students, staff, and faculty can get a free digital subscription), also consider alternative news sources that may take a critical view of some of the most profitable agricultural industries and powerful lobbies, such as Mother Jones, Colorlines, and Project Censored.

Agriculture - introductory overviews

Reference articles are a great way to start your research, get background information, and learn what some of the most important issues and controversies exist in a field.  Some reference articles about agriculture:

What's "monoculture agriculture"?  When only one type of plant is planted in an area, over and over, instead of a diversity of plants.  What's the big deal with monoculture agriculture, and what problems can this cause?  Find out with this reference article on monoculture agriculture - from the Encyclopedia of Global Resources through the library's Gale Virtual Reference Library database.


An overview of the effects of climate change on agriculture - from the Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change, found through the library's Gale Virtual Reference Library database.

 


An overview of sustainable agriculture - from the Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, found through the library's Gale Virtual Reference Library database.

GMOs

Reference articles on GMOs

Article on GMOs  from the academic encyclopedia Food in Context, through the library's Gale Virtual Reference Library database.

 

 

 

 

 


Another article on GMOs from the academic encyclopedia Encyclopedia of Environmental Healththrough the library's Gale Virtual Reference Library database.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Food Justice

Anim Steel is the Executive Director and co-founder of the Real Food Challenge, a campaign to re-direct $1 billion of college food purchases towards local, fair, and sustainable sources within 10 years.

Anim Steel led national initiatives at The Food Project in Boston and was a consultant with Economic Development Assistance Consortium. Anim holds a B.A. in Astrophysics and History from Williams College and a Master’s Degree in Public Policy from Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government. He is the recipient of a Prime Mover Fellowship for movement-building and an Echoing Green award for social entrepreneurship. Born in Ghana, Anim grew up in both West Africa and Washington, DC.
 

Food Deserts

 A short overview of food deserts from the reference book Green Cities: An A-Z Guide