LibGuides: Everyone Can Be a Poet: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to this resource guide for Poetry.

This guide is a starting point for anyone interested in learning how to write poetry. Use the tabs at the top of the guide to find books and media, articles, and background information on this subject.

What is Poetry?

“Poetry is the spontaneous overflow of powerful feelings: it takes its origin from emotion recollected in tranquility.” - William Wordsworth

“Poetry is everywhere; it just needs editing.” - James Tate

“Genuine poetry can communicate before it is understood.“ -T.S. Eliot

“Poetry lies its way to the truth.” -John Ciardi

“To be a poet is a condition, not a profession.” -Robert Frost

How to Write a Poem

Poetry Web Sites

Best Poems Encyclopedia
An online encyclopedia containing thousands of great poems!
From the Fishouse - Emerging Poets Collection
Emphasizing poetry as oral tradition, this site showcases poets with fewer than two published collections. What matters are not the names on the poems but the poems themselves, presented in their creators’ voices. With more than 500 audio files, the site offers users insights into how emerging poets think about and practice their craft.
Modern American Poetry
The Modern American Poetry Site is a comprehensive learning environment and scholarly forum for the study of modern and contemporary American poetry.
Poetry Archive
The Poetry Archive is a free, online collection of recordings of poets reading their work.
The Poetry Foundation
The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience.
Poets.org
Created by the Academy of American Poets, Poets.org contains thousands of poems as well as hundreds of poet biographies, essays, interviews, and poetry recordings—with new material being added constantly. Also available are resources such as the National Poetry Map, a national events calendar, and poetry lesson plans for teachers.
Poets & Writers
This treasure trove of resources includes unparalleled databases of literary magazines, presses, agents, contests, writers’ tools, and readings and workshops. The “My P&W” community is active and supportive.

Information About Poets

Library of Congress Guide to Audio Poetry
Poetry Out Loud
Best Poetry Sites
Use this or other sites to find an audio version of poems.
Poetry For Students
This reference book will have information about poets and poetry.

Remember that the USERID: pdslibs PASSWORD: gooddata (For home use)

Poetry Books at Hostos Library

A Poet's Craft: A Comprehensive Guide to Making and Sharing Your Poetry by Annie Finch
Call Number: PN1059 .A9 F56 2012

ISBN: 9780472033645

Publication Date: 2012
The Way to Write Poetry by Michael Baldwin
Call Number: PN1059.A9 B3

ISBN: 9780241107485

Publication Date: 1982
How to Write Poetry by Nancy Bogen
Call Number: PN1059.A9B64 1994

ISBN: 9780134412399

Publication Date: 1994
Writing Poetry by Barbara Drake
Call Number: PN1042.D72 1994

ISBN: 9780155001541

Publication Date: 1994
The Mind's Eye by Kevin Clark
Call Number: PN1059.A9 C53 2008

ISBN: 9780205498239

Publication Date: 2008
How Poems Think by Reginald Gibbons
Call Number: PN1031.G47 2015

ISBN: 9780226277950

Publication Date: 2015

Everyone Can Be a Poet: Home