Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hostos Library Video Databases
Video resources. You must login with your Hostos ID number (on the bottom of your ID) to connect to database from home.
Video Public Domain Resources
"Rick Prelinger and The Internet Archive hereby offer these public domain films from Prelinger Archives to all for free downloading and reuse"
Moving Image Archive
This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
"The Candy Jar is a collection of video clips produced mainly by VJs for VJs. The clips are licensed for non-commercial use - you'll have to read and agree to the licence when you download."
Audio Public Domain Resources
Free use websites for digital recordings. Always double-check license before using in projects.
Incompetech by Kevin Macleod
Great resource of MP3 files to use in short movies. Also great resource for silent movie genre music.
Ghost Notes Music Blog
"Royalty Free Impressionistic Improvisational Piano music by Composer, William Cushman, that explores different feelings and situations."
Contains both Indie Music and Sound Effects.
"Free Personal use excludes broadcast use of any kind, including, without limitation, web, blog, and podcast, gaming or shareware."
Free Music Archive
"Every mp3 you discover on The Free Music Archive is pre-cleared for certain types of uses that would otherwise be prohibited by copyright laws that were not designed for the digital era."
"Find exactly the music you’re looking for - podsafe, liberally licensed - using dig.ccMixter Music Discovery tool"
"The Freesound Project is a collaborative database of Creative Commons licensed sounds. Freesound focusses only on sound, not songs."
"Opsound is a gift economy in action, an experiment in applying the model of free software to music. Musicians and sound artists are invited to add their work to the Opsound pool using a copyleft license developed by Creative Commons. Listeners are invited to download, share, remix, and reimagine."
"Royalty free music for multimedia projects."
"For each and every single song below, all you have to do is credit the songwriter - Peter John Ross (www.sonnyboo.com) and the music is your to use for free."