This is what an e-book result looks like in OneSearch:
On the record page, you will see at least one link to get to read the book:
Once you get to the book, notice the information before you. Each e-book publisher is a bit different, but there may be:
When you click on "read online" you will be able to read the book, and can also search for particular words inside the book.
Here's what it looks like after you do a search:
Most of our eBook collections work on a variety of devices, including desktops, laptops, eBook readers, tablets and mobile phones. You can also read our eBooks on your computer screen in a web-based eBook reader (this requires an internet connection).
Most of our eBook collections “loan” eBooks for download. After a predetermined amount of time (some collections allow you to select the loan period, often up to three weeks) the loan will expire.
To read eBooks on your mobile device (for example iOS or an Android tablet) you must first set-up your device by installing an eReader app and configuring the app’s settings with your Adobe account information. Then you can search for an eBook and download the eBook directly to your device. Here’s how to download eBooks to a device:
Step 1: Sign up for an Adobe ID (Digital Rights Management)
Digital Rights Management (DRM) software manages the distribution of eBooks you download. When you download an eBook that is protected by DRM, you will be limited in how you use that eBook. For example, it may “expire” (be unreadable) after a set number of days. You may not be able to share it between numerous devices (even if you own multiple devices, there may be a limit to the number of devices where you can read the eBook).
Although different eBook collections may use different DRM software (Apple and Adobe are popular examples), most of the eBook collections at Hostos (and the New York area public libraries- ebooks.nypl.org has a large collection), rely on Adobe DRM to manage their collections’ lending. Sign up for an Adobe account.
Note: Some eBook collections allow you to freely download and keep excerpts of books (single chapters or a small page range). If this is the option you plan to use, you won’t need an Adobe ID. Also, there are a number of free eBooks that you can download without an Adobe account (these are generally available for free on the web– Project Gutenberg is a notable example).
You have to decide where you’re planning to read your eBook, and download the app that makes sense (or that you prefer) for your device or desktop. Here are some options to get you started:
Once you’ve downloaded your app/software, you will need to enter your Adobe ID into it’s configurations. Most applications ask for this information while you are installing the app/software on your device or PC. Sometimes, you will need to find the settings screen in the application and enter the information yourself.
Step 3: Find and download an eBook (using our collections)
Visit our eBook Search page (http://commons.hostos.cuny.edu/library/e-books/) for a list of resources for finding eBooks. Note that you can use dedicated eBook readers that support Adobe DRM (older versions of Nook, for example), but will need to first download the eBooks on a PC with Adobe Digital Editions, and then you will need to sync the device to the PC (using a cable connection) to transfer the book.