Skip to Main Content
Hostos Library Banner

Research 101 (older version): Newspaper Articles

I Am Looking for Newspaper Articles

Newspapers include:

  • Coverage of current or very recent events
  • Eyewitness accounts of an event
  • In-depth coverage of local issues (in local or regional newspapers) 
  • The public's reaction to a specific event or issue
  • The media's current portrayal, or portrayal over time, of a specific issue
  • Opinion pieces - editorials are written by the publishers of the newspaper; op-ed pieces are written by invited authors.

Many newspapers are on the open Web, but some have paywalls for older issues or offer a limited amount of free access per month. 

Remember that as a CUNY student, you can get a free digital subscription to the New York Times - sign up using your Hostos email address.

Accessing newspapers through Hostos Library: 

Hostos Library provides online access to many newspapers.

Sept 2020 note: due to system changes, access to newspaper articles through OneSearch is not functioning properly. We hope that this will be fixed soon, and will update this page when the newspaper search has been corrected. (Looking for other kinds of articles via OneSearch is fine, it is just the newspaper search that is not working well).

 

Newspapers can also be found in many of the library' databases. Click here for a direct link to a list of our newspaper databses

You can also get to this collection through our A-Z list of databases:

A-Z list of databases tab on front page

 

In databases that contain lots of kinds of articles, like Academic Search Complete, you can also select  "newspaper" to filter your results just for newspaper articles.

 

Search WITHIN a particular site

Many websites, even good ones, have less-than-excellent ways to search within their webpages.

Google tends to do a better job searching within websites.

(1) To search within a particular website, type site:www.URLofwebsite.com and then your keywords.

For example:

screenshot site:www.nytimes.com "muslim feminists"

You can limit the dates by clicking on the word "tools":

Note:

  • there is no space between the colon after site and the URL,
  • but there is a space between site:www.URLof website.com and your keywords

 

Return to finding and evaluating sources

 Finding research sources Evaluating research sources

Navigation

 Go back to getting startedgo to OneSearchGo to library home page