Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Interplay by Packed with contemporary examples, cutting-edge research, and accessible writing, Interplay helps students apply insights from scholarship to everyday life. While highlighting the breadth of interpersonal communication research and theory, Interplay also gives students the practical skills they need to improve their own relationships. This new edition of Interplay is the most contemporary text available. The first chapter highlights masspersonal and multimodal communication, setting the stage for integration of social media and mediated communication throughout the book. Expanded discussions of intersectionality, code-switching, disability studies, and gender and language emphasize the role of culture and identity in shaping interactions. Every chapter is full of updated features, including"Focus on Research" and "Dark Side of Communication" boxes. Students can explore and apply concepts with the viral videos and discussion questions in the new "Watch and Discuss" activities that appear in every chapter. Oxford's easy-to-use Dashboard Online Assessment system now features an integrated eBook, video clips, and interactive assignments-everything you and your students need, all in one place.
Call Number: Reserves BF637 .C45 A33 2018
Publication Date: 2017-11-14
An Introduction to Community Health Brief Edition by A Condensed Version of the Bestselling Classic Health TextAn Introduction to Community Health Brief Edition is a condensed and fully updated version of the bestselling classic health text. It is ideally suited for students in Health Education, Nursing, and Social Work programs. Like the full-length text, the condensed edition provides comprehensive coverage of epidemiology, adolescent and child health, health and safety in the workplace, environmental health, and minority and elder health. This is the only condensed community health text on the market and is suitable for institutions with shorter academic terms.Key pedagogical features such as chapter objectives, review questions, key terms, and a full glossary can also be found within the brief edition. Access to the robust companion website is included with the purchase of each new textbook. Key features of the brief edition include:* Extensive information on community-health related issues, including maternal, infant and child health; adolescent health, and elder and minority health* Full coverage of the Affordable Care Act (ObamaCare)* Discussion around the epidemic of deaths resulting from the nonmedical use and abuse of prescription analgesics * Environmental concerns around the earthquake, tsunami and the disabled nuclear power plant in Japan* A full suite of ancillary materials, including Practice Quizzes, Flashcards, Web Links and an Interactive Glossary can be found on the companion website
Call Number: RA445 .M29 2015
Publication Date: 2013-04-26
Health, Safety, and Nutrition for the Young Child by HEALTH, SAFETY, AND NUTRITION FOR THE YOUNG CHILD, 9th Edition, covers contemporary health, safety, and nutrition needs of infant through school-age children--and guides teachers in implementing effective classroom practices--in one comprehensive, full-color volume. Concepts are backed by the latest research findings and linked to NAEYC standards. The book emphasizes the importance of respecting and partnering with families to help children establish healthy lifestyles and achieve their learning potential. Early childhood educators, professionals, and families will find the latest research and information on many topics of significant concern, including food safety, emergency and disaster preparedness, childhood obesity, children's mental health, bullying, resilience, chronic and acute health conditions, environmental quality, and children with special medical needs. Also provided are easy-to-access checklists, guidelines, and activities that no early childhood student or professional should be without.
Call Number: RJ101 .M347 2014
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Medical Terminology by Canadian Edition of popular selling Medical Terminology textbook. Updated to focus on canadian regionalisms in narrative, spellings in narrative, drugs and diagnosis in Canada, as well as measurements. This is the text with the BOB CD-ROM included.
Call Number: R123 .C65 2014 (not current edition)
Publication Date: 2013-06-01
Health Literacy from A to Z by A Best-Seller on Amazon!Health Literacy From A to Z, Second Edition is included in the 2015 edition of the essential collection of Doody's Core Titles.Doody's Review Service, 5 Stars, Score 100!AWARDS for The Second Edition:Two-time winner of New England Chapter of the American Medical Writers Association awards: 2012 Will Solimene Award for Excellence in Medical Communication 2012 Neil Duane Award of Distinction2012 Medical Book Awards: Honorable Mention in the Non-Physicians categoryClear communication of your health message can make all the difference in effective patient care. Health Literacy from A to Z: Practical Ways to Communicate Your Health Message, Second Edition is an easy to use handbook designed for the busy health professional. Filled with ideas and strategies that can be used in everyday practice, Health Literacy from A to Z is a first-of-its-kind resource. Learn the key principles and strategies of effective health communication presented in a simple, informal manner by one of the nation's leading experts in health literacy.Whether you are a physician, nurse, pharmacist, allied health professional, case manager, public health specialist, practice manager, health care educator, student or family caregiver this book is for you.Instructor Resources include a Sample Syllabus and PowerPoint Presentations.What's New in the Second Edition of Health Literacy from A to ZThe Second Edition is updated and revised to reflect current health literacy research and practice with new information about timely health literacy topics. This edition has 14 new chapters including 4 chapters about "Technology" and 7 chapters focused on "Know Your Audience."Highlights* "Starting Points" with an introduction to key information.* "Strategies, Ideas, and Suggestions" with lots of practical, how-to tips.* "Stories from Practice" showcasing real-life experiences from a wide range of perspectives to help make key points come alive. * "Sources to Learn More" including an extensive list of books, articles, websites, podcasts, and other resources.New Topics* Business Side of Health Literacy* Communicating When Patients Feel Scared, Sick, and Overwhelmed* General Public: Talking with Patients about What They Learn from the Media* Organizational Efforts, Advocacy, and Collaborations* Regulatory and Legal Language* Website Writing* Blogs and Social Media* Audio Podcasts* Email and Text Messages* Interactive Multimedia* Sections focusing on, "Know Your Audience" with in-depth information about: Children and Youth Emotions and Cognition Hearing Loss Language and Culture Literacy Older Adults Vision Problems The First Edition was the 2006 Winner of the New England Chapter of the American Medical Writers Association, Will Solimene Award for Excellence in Medical Communication!
Call Number: RA440 .O825 2013
Publication Date: 2011-10-07
Substance Use and Abuse by Substance use and abuse are two of the more frequent psychological problems clinicians encounter, both in isolation and in the context of other disorders. Mainstream approaches focus on the biological and psychological factors underpinning drug abuse, but to fully appreciate the issue, we also need to attend to the social, historical, and cultural variables that provide a contextual base. The authors' primary goal is to explore thoroughly such cultural and historical approaches. Such an approach has much to offer in terms of enriching our understanding of why people use drugs and in elucidating the nature of substance-abuse problems. They also demonstrate how such an approach can be integrated within a mainstream biopsychosocial perspective. In so doing, they hope to illustrate how explanations drawn from different levels of analysis and different disciplinary perspectives relate. Features/Benefits: - integrates components from biological variables, psychosocial variables, cultural-historical variables, and the self, providing multidisciplinary perspective. Locating drug abuse in wider historical and cultural contexts allows clinicians to evaluate more clearly the constellation of factors responsible for drug-related problems - illustrating the value of a cultural-historical perspective in conceptualizing, preventing, and treating substance abuse problems also serves to highlight consequent public policy implications. - chapters open with introductions and conclude with summaries and end notes to frame the content of each chapter for students.
Call Number: on order
Publication Date: 2003-04-07
Nutrition by Build a healthier future with Sizer/Whitney's NUTRITION: CONCEPTS AND CONTROVERSIES! Updated throughout and featuring the new Dietary Guidelines, this clear and engaging market leader strikes the perfect balance of scientific research, core concepts, and relevant applications. With a lively and approachable writing style, the authors dispel existing misconceptions and empower you to make better nutrition choices and enact real, lasting behavior change.
Call Number: Reserves QP141 .S5365 2013
Publication Date: 2016-02-26
The Dimensions of Health by The Dimensions of Health: Conceptual Models is an introductory text that examines the five dimensions of personal health: physical, social, emotional, intellectual, and spiritual.Each chapter:-Provides context for the study of that dimension-Includes examples of how experts think about that dimension-Presents two or more models developed by scholars and professionals-Discusses identifiable characteristics associated with each dimensionBy incorporating a variety of perspectives, The Dimensions of Health enables students to formulate their own answer to the question, "What is health?"This text is perfect for use in conjunction with a personal health text or as a standalone for any personal health course.
Call Number: RA776.9 .H54 2010
Publication Date: 2009-09-28
Critical Issues in Global Health by Critical Issues in Global Health is an outstanding compAndium of knowledge and thought--from a distinguished panel of internationally renowned medical and public health experts--that offers insight into the most important health issues facing our world′s populations. The volume′s individual contributors represent a wide range of prestigious health organizations and institutions including the World Health Organization, National Academy of Sciences, Kellogg and Rockefeller Foundations, U.S. Centers for Disease Control, and the American Public Health Association. Edited by C. Everett Koop, Clarence E. Pearson, and M. Roy Schwarz, these never-before-published essays explore the future of international health and explain what will be required in order to provide adequate health and medical care worldwide, especially for underdeveloped countries.
Call Number: RA441 .C75 2002
Publication Date: 2002-09-17