FALL 2020: PLEASE NOTE THAT THE PHYSICAL ARCHIVES ARE NOW CLOSED DUE TO COVID-19.
ONLINE RESOURCES ARE AVAILABLE AS ALWAYS.
Hours of Operation
The archives operates during regular business hours, Monday through Friday. Advanced notice is required, however, as the repository is staffed part-time. Please contact the archives to scedule an appointment.
Scheduling an Appointment
The Hostos Community College Archives is open to researchers from within and outside the college community. Please contact the archives staff several days in advance to schedule an appointment. When contacting the archives, please be prepared to provide the below information:
Your name and contact information
Institutional affiliation, if any
Your topic (please be as specific as possible)
The type and format of material you are interested in accessing
The name of the collection, series, or folder you wish to research (when known)
Sources you have already accessed
Any outstanding questions you may have
Hostos students, faculty, and staff are able to access and use the archives free of cost. The archives staff is available for assistance only. Those who are conducting extensive research should plan on scheduling an appointment, or if possible several appointments, for as long as necessary. In some cases, archives staff will be able to fullfill requests for frequently accessed materials without the researchers presence. In all other cases, it is expected that the researcher take the time necessary to find and locate materials within the various collections.
Procedures Governing Use of Archives
Conditions Governing Use and Reproduction
The below conditions are strictly enforced in order to protect the integrity of the materials located in the archives. Researchers from outside the college community will be required to sign a detailed user agreement, while students, faculty, and staff will be required to sign a shortened version when deemed necessary by archives staff. In that regard, archives staff will provide the following services:
Adherence to Use
Materials from the collections of the Hostos Community College Archives will be considered for non-exclusive, one-time use only in the publication, project, production, or personal use for which the researcher is using materials. Any additional or alternate uses, including but not limited to placement on the internet, subsequent editions, reprints, re-releases, dust jackets, covers, print or broadcast advertisement, companion formats, and distribution in other markets, constitute a new use which must be documented and approved by the Hostos Community College Archives.
Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or other reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.” If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use” that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.
Copyright, Libel and Slander
Researchers will bare responsibility for any copyright violation, issues of invasion of privacy, libel and/or slander that may result from use of these materials.
Materials are not to be used to assert or imply that Hostos Community College Archives endorses any product or enterprise, concurs with the opinions expressed in, or confirms the accuracy of any content of the described publication, project or production.
Manipulation of Images
While the Hostos Community College Archives will allow close-ups of portions of the original and adjustments to contrast, sharpness, and cropping where the original content is not changed, it will NOT allow inversion of the original or change in resolution of digital files, or the removal or addition of content. The Hostos Community College Archives’ primary interest is to protect the content of the original. The Hostos Community College Archives may enhance the original material to allow for better interpretation and understanding of the content. I understand that any manipulation to material beyond the above must be approved by the Hostos Community College Archives in advance of its use.
Researchers are required to identify the content of materials provided by the Hostos Community College Archives and to not use them in a way that falsifies or misrepresents the information they present.
Researchers must credit the Hostos Community College Archives for the materials used in a completed paper or project as follows: [Creator], [Collection Title], Hostos Community College Archives. Otherwise, researchers conducting scholarly research may provide credit according to rules governing archival materials in the citation style of their choice.&.
The rights to the provided materials cannot be sub-leased or sold, nor may the researcher permit others to reproduce the materials or any facsimiles of them by any means for any purpose. Likewise, the researcher may not donate or sell materials to another person or organization.
Please note that there may be a fee rider for researchers from outside the college community. Fees are based on the New York Public Library fee schedule.