Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hostos Archives collects institutional records, faculty papers, and manuscript collections that document the college’s history. The archives’ primary interest is in preserving and making available materials which document the unique role that Hostos has played as a community resource in the South Bronx. The archive unit also maintains custody over collections that support the college’s academic mission and programs. Such collections have been subject to a rigorous appraisal process by archives staff and found to be within our collection development policy.
Hostos Faculty Senate Minutes
Middle State Associations of Colleges and School Reports
Annual and Periodic Reports
Newsletters and Press Releases
Flyers, Posters and Ephemera
Located below are archival finding aids to some of Hostos’ most valuable archival collections. Finding aids are detailed guides that include inventory lists and full descriptions of the records forming each collection.
Museum of Contemporary Hispanic Art (1971-1990)
The Museum of Contemporary Hispanic Art (MoCHA) was born from the rise of multiculturalism in 1985, as an alternative museum in SoHo that showcased the art of under-represented Hispanic and Latino artists. MoCHA operated under the umbrella of Friends of Puerto Rico, Inc. (FOPR), a non-profit organization founded and incorporated in 1956. From 1974 to 1984, FOPR administered the Cayman Gallery, which in its lifetime was the only non-commercial Hispanic arts center in the mainstream of American Art. Despite its short existence, MoCHA helped launch the career of numerous artists who became successful in the 1990s. After it closed in 1990, its archival records were taken to Hostos Community College, City University of New York, in an effort to preserve them. These invaluable records document the history of the institution and the early careers of many of the artists it exhibited. Materials include exhibition and artist files, recorded symposia of public programs organized by the museum, and exhibition catalogs.
Magda Vasillov photographs and negatives (1970-1980)
The Magda Vasillov photographs and negatives include some of the earliest images documenting Hostos Community College. Included are negatives which depict the activities during the first two years of the college’s history, 1970-1973. Also included is Vasillov’s, Faces of Hostos photograph exhibit, which was displayed at the Bronx Museum in 1980.
Gerald J. Meyer Collection
This collection contains the papers amassed by Gerald Meyer, a history professor at Hostos Community College for over 30 years. The collection traces Meyer’s involvement in political and social activities as well as his leadership roles at Hostos. It also contains his instructional materials and documentation of his professional and scholarly work. The most significant part of the collection is Series IV, which is dedicated to movements to obtain additional facilities and ultimately to save Hostos from closure during the mid 1970s. Hostos’ unique position as a bilingual college serving a population that is over 65% Latino caused this struggle to become emblematic of a more generalized fight for Latino rights and bilingual education in The Bronx and beyond. The collection contains academic writings, flyers, clippings, student publications, correspondence, memos, instructional materials, scholarly publications, personal papers, and other materials related to Meyer’s activities and Hostos Community College.
Contact Hostos Archives regarding the following collections
- Hostos Arts and Culture ephemera and posters
Abstract: This collection documents the history of the Hostos Arts and Culture program from 1983 through the present. It contains ephemera, posters, and programs used to promote various shows in the visual and performing arts.
The Collection on Pat Oldham documents the 1983 campaign to reinstate Pat Oldham, former Professor of Behavioral and Social Sciences at Hostos, to the college faculty with tenure. The collection consists of photographs documenting several mass protests supporting the cause, letters from University faculty and administrators to Hostos President Flora Mancuso Edwards and CUNY Chancellor Joseph Murphy, and articles from the PSC CUNY Clarion.
The collection consists of approximately 65 silver gelatin photographs documenting life on East 149th Street in the South Bronx neighborhood of New York City. The exhibit depicts the many businesses, restaurants, and shops that lined the street’s sidewalks and surrounding areas in 1986. Through his camera lens, Pablo Delano tells the story of a pride filled neighborhood devoted to hard work and community success.