Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases to Use for Your Research
Academic Search Complete
Use this database for articles on "The Crucible" and also for articles on themes as they relate to events in today's world.
Gale Literature This database provides articles on all kinds of literature, including "The Crucible" but it also has a search called "Topic Finder" and when you use it to search, you'll find a chance to view articles on related themes.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) Representative range of authors and their works including a deep collection of full-text critical and literary analysis. The database provides researchers with evidence to support their literary responses and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics representing multiple views and perspectives.
Articles and Websites of Interest
Resources for Salem Witch Trials and Annotated Bibliography Handout
Links to specialized encyclopedia articles from our Reference databases
Vigilantism (and Scapegoating)
This is an article from the Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment in Credo Reference database
Apocalypticism (Conspiracy Theories, Scapegoating)
This article on apocalypticism ("end of the world is coming") is also about groups who are scapegoated, and conspiracy theories that serve to create scapegoats. It is from Credo Reference database.
Muslim American Mobilization
This article from Academic Search Complete database examines the backlash against American Muslims that occurred in the wake of the September 11, 2001 Terrorist Attacks. The reaction can come in a number of forms, such as hate crimes, vigilantism, harassment and political repression.
Prof. Miriam Laskin, Academic Librarian
YOUR RESEARCH ASSIGNMENT - SPRING 2015
Search for Articles using Google Scholar
Type a subject or topic in the Google Scholar Search box and click on "Search"