Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hostos Library Banner

Gerald J. Meyer Archival Finding Aid

Gerald J. Meyer Archival Collection at Hostos Community College

Gerald J. Meyer Summary

Summary Information

Repository
Hostos Community College
Creator
Gerald J. Meyer
Title
The Gerald J. Meyer collection
ID
US.ZHC.Meyer
Date [inclusive]
1972-2006
Extent
13.0 Cubic feet
Language
English
Language of Materials note
English and Spanish


Abstract
This collection contains the papers amassed by Gerald Meyer, a history professor at Hostos Community College for over 30 years. The collection traces Meyer’s involvement in political and social activities as well as his leadership roles at Hostos. It also contains his instructional materials and documentation of his professional and scholarly work. The most significant part of the collection is Series IV, which is dedicated to movements to obtain additional facilities and ultimately to save Hostos from closure during the mid 1970s. Hostos’ unique position as a bilingual college serving a population that is over 65% Latino caused this struggle to become emblematic of a more generalized fight for Latino rights and bilingual education in The Bronx and beyond. The collection contains academic writings, flyers, clippings, student publications, correspondence, memos, instructional materials, scholarly publications, personal papers, and other materials related to Meyer’s activities and Hostos Community College.