Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hostos Library Banner

Online Research for Latin American/Latinx & Caribbean Studies

This guide will assist students in doing research in Lat Am/Latinx & Caribbean Studies courses taught by Prof. Torres-Velez.

Databases

One Search For broad searches that includes full-text books, peer-reviewed articles, newspapers and other sources. To access full-text documents please scroll down on this page for instructions. 

 

Ethnic NewsWatch - Search for full-text peer-reviewed, magazine and newspaper articles in this database that specializes in ethnic studies. Topics such as the Dominican Republic, the Caribbean and Mexican migration are covered.

 

World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean - Search for full-text peer-reviewed, magazine and newspaper articles in this database. Click on the topics tab to browse specific countries or topics.

 

Tips for Searching Databases!

 

  • You will be required to use your CUNY First username/password when using databases off-campus. 

 

  • Use short keywords in search box, such as: Dominican migration, or Caribbean history. Use different combination of keywords such as race Dominican Republic, Caribbean culture, or add music, politics or food to your keyword. 

 

  • Narrow down results by using filters that appear on the left or right hand side of screen, such as peer-reviewed sources, newspapers, date or by subject. Use citation tools located at top of page after clicking on source.

 

For more information see our Library Research Guide.

How to Access Full-Text Materials in One Search

To access full-text articles or books in One Search, click on Available Online in a selected item as shown in first image below.

Then on next page scroll down to View Online to access document by selecting database as shown in second image below.

 

Image of Selected Item in One Search Results Page

 

Image of Databases in One Search